Dedicated Representation and Personal
Service in Lawrenceville, GA

What are the penalties for DUI in Georgia?

| Jul 23, 2020 | Drunk Driving Charges |

Drivers in Georgia must take a breath test if asked to do so by law enforcement during a traffic stop. You can receive a charge of driving under the influence if you show obvious signs of impairment or if your blood alcohol content exceeds 0.08%.

If you are facing a court date for DUI in Georgia, learn about the potential legal penalties for a conviction.

DUI with no prior convictions

If you are a first-time DUI offender and receive a conviction, the court can order:

  • 12-month license suspension
  • $210 license reinstatement fee
  • $300 to $1,000 in fines
  • Up to 12 months in jail
  • At least 40 hours of community service
  • Completion of a drug and alcohol risk reduction program

Second DUI in five years

The look-back period for DUI in Georgia is five years. If you receive a second conviction during this time, penalties can include:

  • 36-month license suspension
  • $210 license reinstatement fee
  • $600 to $1,000 in fines
  • At least 48 hours and up to 12 months in jail
  • At least 30 days of community service
  • Mandatory substance use evaluation and treatment if indicated
  • Completion of a drug and alcohol risk reduction program

Third-time DUI

You could receive these legal consequences for a third DUI in five years:

  • 60-month license suspension
  • $210 license reinstatement fee
  • $1,000 to $5,000 in fines
  • At least 15 days and up to 12 months in jail
  • At least 30 days of community service
  • Mandatory substance use evaluation and treatment if indicated
  • Completion of a drug and alcohol risk reduction program
  • Seizure of your car’s license plate
  • Name and photo printed in your local paper at your own expense to indicate that you are a habitual DUI offender

Additional penalties may apply depending on the details of your arrest and the available evidence. For example, you will receive a minimum 12-month license suspension for refusal to take a breath test. An open alcohol container in the car carries a fine of $200 in addition to the base fines.