With states all over considering marijuana legalization, it may be difficult to keep track of everything. No matter how responsibly adults use cannabis products, they may still face strict charges and penalties depending on the state they are in while using.
Georgia still has a firm stance against any marijuana use and, as NORML details, fines and jail time are considerable.
One of the only misdemeanors in Georgia’s current marijuana law is the possession of 1 ounce or less and that comes with a potential of incarceration for up to one year and a fine of up to $1,000.
Possession of over 1 ounce is a felony and charges include jail time up to 10 years and a fine of up to $5,000.
If the courts prove the intent to distribute, charges carry mandatory minimum sentences with jail time going as high as 40 years and fines as costly as $1 million.
Growing and delivery
Operations built to grow or sell marijuana see similar penalties based on their weight:
- 10 pounds or less earns 1-10 years and $5,000 in fines.
- 10-2,000 pounds earn 5-30 years and up to $100,000 in fines.
- 2,000-10,000 pounds earn 7-30 with up to $250,000.
- Over 10,000 pounds see the mandatory minimum bumped to 15 with fines running up to $1 million.
Anyone convicted of these crimes sees a suspension of his or her driving license and repeat offenses may see stricter penalties.
Drug charges leave a brutal mark on peoples’ records and reducing or eliminating those charges may mean the difference between years of jail time and a future.