Law enforcement officials may charge you with a traffic offense if they think that you violated one of Georgia’s driving laws. If you receive a conviction, you may earn points on your driver’s license.
According to the Georgia Department of Driver Services, driver’s license points are a penalty meant to keep you from breaking the laws of the road. You may earn points after receiving a conviction for a wide variety of traffic violations. The DDS awards different numbers of points depending on the violation.
One of the ways that you may earn points is by speeding. If you drive up to 18 mph above the speed limit, you may receive 2 points on your license. You may earn 3 points if you exceed the speed limit by 23 mph. If you drive more than 34 mph above the limit, you may earn 6 points. Additionally, speeding can result in points if you were driving in a work zone or on a bridge. You may also receive three points if you drive below the speed limit.
You may earn points on your license for other actions that you perform on the road. The following traffic offenses all may result in three driver’s license points:
- Passing improperly
- Failing to yield to traffic
- Driving the wrong way on one-way streets
- Driving on closed streets
- Failing to use turn signals
Sometimes, the way that you drive near pedestrians may also result in license points. You may earn three points if you do not drive carefully around walkers or if you do not yield to them when they cross the street. Additionally, you may receive three points if you do not yield to bicyclists.
It may sometimes be possible for you to remove points from your driver’s license.