All states have a version of ignition interlock laws tied in with DUI penalties. However, they may be slightly different between states. For example, one of the requirements after a DUI in the state of Georgia is to serve a 120-day license revocation period, at minimum.
Another common requirement for license reinstatement is to install an ignition interlock device. According to the Georgia Department of Driver Services, after the 120-day license revocation period, you may need to install an ignition interlock device for a period of at least 4 months.
What is an ignition interlock device?
An ignition interlock device is a breathalyzer device that a third-party service installs in your automobile. In order to operate the vehicle, you must blow into the device. If the device finds any alcohol on your breath, the car will not turn on. Additionally, you must blow into the device at random periods while operating the vehicle. If the ignition interlock device finds any alcohol on your breath while the car is in motion, it will cause the car to start honking uncontrollably and flashing its lights. This will get the attention of the police.
What are the Georgia requirements?
The law may require all DUI offenders, even first-time offenders, to install ignition interlock devices after their license revocation period. If the offender submitted to the chemical test at the time law enforcement pulled them over for DUI, they must maintain an ignition interlock device in their vehicle for at least four months. If the offender did not submit to the chemical test, they must keep the ignition interlock device in their car for a minimum of 12 months.